Archive for the ‘1998 Music’ Category


Ralph Murphy Circa 1998

August 12, 2013

Name: Ralph Murphy
Year: Circa 1998
Raised: (Chatham-Kent) Wallaceburg
Position: Performer, producer, songwriter & publisher.

Amongst many other projects, roles, & duties, highlights for Ralph Murphy this year include:

* 1998 – Ralph co-writes the song ‘I’m Still Here, You’re Still Gone’ performed by Randy Travis. Album: You & You Alone. Label: Dreamworks.
* 1998 – Ralph co-wrote one of her biggest hits ‘Half the Way’. Artist: Crystal Gayle. Album: Super Hits.
* 1998 – Ralph co-wrote the ‘I Was Right About You’. Performed by John Prine. Album: Lucky 13.
Email your info & pics to:



Mustard Seed Band 1998

July 25, 2011

Band: Mustard Seed
Genre: Rock
Formed: 1998
Home: Blenheim (Chatham-Kent)

Todd Lenover – Lead guitar, lead vocals
Jon Paul Huggins – Rhthym guitar, backing vocals
Jeff Pickle – Bass
Stuart Huggins – Percussion.

Note: Todd would later go on to front Finding Core.


Do you have pics & info? Email us


Jubilation Release Music

May 2, 2010

Group: Jubilation
Release: Second Chance At Love
Year: 1998
Genre: Gospel, Christian Rock.
Home: Chatham-Kent (Dresden)

Judy Paling
Richard Arssenault

This CD includes four original songs and features Amber Ladd (Oshawa) on vocals. Paling’s three daughters can also be heard on the release.
Note: This is their second recording. The first CD was entitled “My Wings For His Glory“.

Anyone with pics or info, please email:



New Society

May 2, 2010

New Society
Year: 1998
Home: Chatham Ontario
Genre: Punk/Hardcore

Chris Newby – Lead Vocals
Jess Allin – Guitar/ Back up Vox
Brian Venne – Bass Guitar
Scott Gillett – Drums

 New Society was a punk band started back in highschool in 1998. They all went their seperate ways after highschool. Later, Brian and Scott started “The Rucks” with Lee Fletcher.

Anyone with pics or info, please email:



Grounded 1998 Demo

April 13, 2010

Click to enlarge CD Cover

Band: Grounded
CD Demo: For the School Girls
Year: 1998
Genre: Rock
Home: Wallaceburg

Dan Dufour – Bass, vocals
Bryan Moreland – Guitar, B vocals
Wess Bechard – Rhythm guitar
J.R. Wood – Drums, percussion

02. Faster’s Better
03. Basic Earl
04. Sleep In
05. So Hard to Believe
06. Comical Release
07. Mush
08. All Over Again
09. Hide
10. Orange Plug

Produced by: Chris Pistagnesi and John Riolo



The Marauders Release Celtic Fire 1998

February 5, 2010

The Marauders
Release: Celtic Fire
Year: 1998
Genre: Celtic
Home: Chatham

Dave Thibert (18) – Fiddle
Paul Thibert (13) – Fiddle
Mike Schatte (14) – Guitar

Notes: A few years later, Michael Schatte would form Midnight Mojo then embark on a few solo releases as of 2010.

All tunes arranged by The Marauders
Digitally Recorded and Mastered Oct. – Nov. 1998 at Baseline Sound – Chatham, Ontario

Recording Engineer: Gary Barnett
Produced by Gary Barnett & The Marauders
Photography: Al Thibert (Cover) & Gary Schatte (Inside)

Watch the CD video preview below.

If video does not appear, watch it here.



The Dave Murphy Band 1998

February 3, 2010

: The Dave Murphy Band
CD Release: Mysterious Juice
Year: 1998
Genre: Funk, rock & blues
Home: Toronto/Hamilton

Chatham Connection: Guitarist Dan Noordermeer is from Chatham. Dan played locally with ‘River Road’, was a long time member of the Jeff Healey Blues Band, and has done session work on several CD releases.

About Chatham’s own Dan Noordermeer:
  Guitarist extraordinaire Dan Noordermeer has been with the band for almost a decade, and continues to dazzle audiences with his formidable talents. Originally from Chatham, Dan now resides in Hamilton. Dan is known for his Samson-like mane of hair and his wicked sense of humour. Unlikely as it seems, Dan was a full time country musician for many years before joining the band. But for those familiar with his playing it’s no surprise, since he has an uncanny ability to play every style of music with incredible authenticity, passion and virtuosity.

CD & band notes:
  Over 200 shows a year quickly earned the band its reputation as one of the most talented, versatile and hardest working acts in the business. This is their second release.

Click on the video below to watch the CD Preview

If video does not appear, watch it hear.

  The disc is packed with fifteen original tunes, spanning the enormous stylistic range that the band is renown for. “Right this Moment is the lead off track – a funky horn drenched number celebrating the joys of living in the present, or “’carpeing the diem” as Dave might say! “Waking up the Dead” is driving blues that swings hard from start to finish, and features one of many stellar solos on the album by guitarist Dan Noordermeer. “It’s Only Money” is pure rock and roll, and lots of fun, whereas the gospel-tinged soul of “How’ve You Been” is highlighted by a moving vocal performance demonstrating Dave’s newfound maturity as both a singer and songwriter. The fifth song of the disc, “Lose Your Mind” is an uptempo funk-rock song which includes a great solo by Dave on the Hammond organ. And on it goes for ten more tracks, with lots of pleasant surprises along the way: The sonic wall of guitars and unrelenting groove of drummer Danny Lockwood on Lying There leave no doubt that the band can rock hard. The jazzy “Fast Twitch Blues” moves along at such a clip that one wonders how long the guys can hold on! “Let’s Play Outside” is a trip through a 70’s time machine with a very funky bass track by Chris “Bottom End” Bruce, and the upbeat groove of “Drano For Your Soul” features a fabulous extended sax solo by Toronto’s Mark Armstrong. The album closes as strongly as it begins: “Just One More” is a rousing sing-a-long swing blues number; the band rocks on “One Million Bands,” which offers a amusing commentary on the indie music scene; and the emotional Stranded on the Mainland is marked by a haunting piano and vocal performance by Dave. The final track “The Way it Goes” showcases the entire band, with an extended jam closing out the disc that recreates the excitement of the band’s live performances. “Mysterious Juice” is a huge eclectic mix of great music by one of Toronto’s most exciting live acts.