Ian And Sylvia – Movin’ On (1999)

May 30, 2009

Artist: Ian And Sylvia
Release: Movin’ On (1967-1968)
Date: 1999 (Mercury) Made In Canada
Sylvia is from Chatham. Born Sylvia Fricker.

  This CD contains the two albums Ian & Sylvia released on MGM, Lovin’ Sound (1967) and Full Circle (1968). Here they started developing a richer, fuller sound. This is probably my favorite single-CD release of Ian & Sylvia. Notes by Nicholas Jennings.

1. Windy Weather (Tyson) 3:07  2. Hang On To A Dream (Tim Hardin) 2:15  3. I Don’t Believe You (Dylan) 3:11  4. Where Did All The Love Go (Fricker) 2:41  5. Mr Spoons (Tyson) 2:24  6. National Hotel (Tyson) 2:07  7. Sunday (Tyson, Fricker) 2:03   8. Pilgrimage To Paradise (David Rea) 3:24  9. Reason To Believe (Tim Hardin) 2:13   10. Big River (Cash) 2:02   11. Trilogy (Fricker) 2:45   12. Lovin’ Sound (Tyson) 2:34  13. Here’s To You (Hamilton Camp) 2:34  14. I Learned From Leah (Tyson, Fricker)  15. Woman’s World (Fricker)   16. Mr Spoons (Tyson) 2:47   17. Shinbone Alley (Fricker)   18. Please Think (Keith McKie) 4:34   19. Stories He’d Tell (Tyson) 5:52   20. Jickson Johnson (trad) 3:57  21. Tears Of Rage (Dylan, Manuel) 4:52   22. Minstrel (David Rea) 3:55

Lovin’ Sound:
David Rea: lead guitar
Paul Harris: keyboards, orchestrations
Harvey Brooks & Don Payne: bass
Bill LaVorna & Donald MacDonald: drums
Produced by John Court.

Full Circle:
David Rea: guitar
Bill Pursell: piano, organ
Weldon Myrick: steel guitar
Norbert Putnam: bass
Ken Buttrey: drums
Charlie Fox: string choir arrangements
Produced by Elliot Mazer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: